Landon Books

New York

Our Books

Landon's titles

Landon Books is pleased to publish the work of Joan Hawkins, a New York-based author whose works include Underwater, Bailey, and Trespass.

Joan Hawkins

Joan Hawkins was born in Cambridge, Massachusetts. She attended Bennington College and New York University. She now lives in New York City where she practices psychotherapy. Her first novel, Underwater, was a cutting edge cult novel that explored female sexual boundaries.  It was published by G. P. Putnam in 1974 under the name of Joan Winthrop. A daring novel that was ahead of its time, Landon Books marked the novel’s 40th Anniversary with a brand new Second Edition.  

Revent novels by Joan Hawkins

Following Underwater, Joan's second novel, Bailey is an unusual coming of age tale set mostly in a New England asylum and was published by Landon Books in 2012.  Her third, Trespass is set in an idyllic Connecticut haven, where a woman's final days are played out to an intrigue of money and greed. For more information on all of these books, sample chapters and an interview with the author, see:

Contact Us

Drop us a line!

Landon Books

(718) 533-8998